CONFERENCE PROGRAMME – updated 26 November 2011

CONFERENCE PROGRAMME  

Download here for a print friendly version

29 Nov 2011 Pre-conference workshop

8.00am  -5pm Rebranding our profession
Facilitators: Mr Nurhazmam Abd Aziz and Janice Chia

Wednesday 30 November 2011

8.00am Registration
Session 1. ACCESS & COLLABORATION
8.30-9.45  Regional Current Trends And Policies
Mr. Ahmad Sukri Abdul Kadir
The Development of  National Archives of Malaysia as National Research Centre and SARBICA’s RolesSARBICA
Email sukri@arkib.gov.my
Congress of Southeast Asian Librarians(CONSAL) Nellie Dato Haji Sunny
President Brunei Darussalam Library Association
Email: pobox.bla@gmail.com
Training and Professionalism: Brunei Museums Case Study Pengiran Dr Hj Karim Pg Hj Osman
Deputy Director  Brunei Museums
Email.karimosman1960@gmail.com
9.45-9.50am  Break
Session 2. TRAINING  AND  PROFESSIONALISM
9.50-11.00am   Professional Development
BLA Initiatives Dyg.Hjh Pusparaini Hj Thani
Secretary National Advisory Committee on Library Science Education/Secretary Training BLA
Email.puspathani@gmail.com
Licensing of librarians Ms. Thelma Kim
President,Philippines Librarians Association Inc
Email.kim.thelma@yahoo.com
LAS Singapore workforce skills qualification systems for library officers and para-professionals Ms Janice Chia
Council Member, Library Association Singapore

Email. janicechia@ntu.edu.sg

11.00-12.30pm  LAM Forum
Access and collaboration Dyg.Mariani Bakar
Public Relations Officer, Brunei Museums
Email.marianibakar.muzium@gmail.com
Awg Azhari Hj Suhaimi
Librarian,Dewan Bahasa & Pustaka Brunei email.azharis@brunet.bn
Aw Mohamed Jefri Hj A Sabli
Curator of Archives, Brunei National Archives
Email.mdjefri.sabli@gmail.com
12.30-1.30pm Lunch break
1.30-2.00pm
BLA: Our Professional Association
25 years journey
Aw Hj Abu Bakar Hj Zainal
Co-Founder Brunei Darussalam Library Association
Email: habhaz@hotmail.com
2.30 pm Opening Ceremony
3.15 pm Break
3.30 pm KEYNOTE I
Datin Paduka Hjh Adina Othman
Deputy Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports
4.15 pm KEYNOTE II
Professional Development: A  UK  Perspective Mr  Brian Hall
President, CILIP UK
Email.brian.hall@cilip.org.uk

Thursday 1 December  2011

Session 3. ICT ENABLERS AND INNOVATIVE TECHNOLOGIES
9.00-9.50 am   Mobile Technologies
Global security, safety and sustainability Awg Hj Umar Ali Abdullah
Acting CEO, TelBru
Email.umarali.abdullah@telbru.com.bn
Mobile technology evolution, services and benefits Awg Idris Tahir Vasi
CEO,  DST
Email.idris@dst-group.com
9.50-10.00  am Break
10.00-10.50am  Networking And User Generated Content
Social media: just another fad here to stay? Awg.Delwin Keasberry
Founder http://www.projekbrunei.com and @bruneitweet
Email. bruneitweet@gmail.com
Information management in a social media age Awg Reedz Malik
Founder & Principal Photographer
www. anakbrunei.org
email:  reedz@anakbrunei.org
10.50-12.00am  Enhancing User Interface With Web Services
Bringing libraries to every home Mdm Tricia Bong Chee Thin
IS Manager, Sarawak Information System Sdn Bhd
Email:  cheethin@snt.com.my
e-Bunda.org: a collaborative project on online learning platform for women Puan  Haslina Taib
CEO BAG Networks
Email: haslina.taib@bagnetworks.com.bn
e-HIJRAH Awg Hj Rahim Hj Derus
Director, ICT. Ministry of Education
Email:rahim.derus@moe.edu.bn
12.00-12.30 pm e-publishing and digital asset management
The Publishing Library Mr. Joseph  Goh
Director,  IG Publishing
Email.joseph@igroupnet.com
12.30-1.30pm  Lunch break
1.30-2.30pm  RFID Technology
Putting RFID to work: AITI RFID Initiative Dyg. Norfadlina Prof Madya Dato Dr.Hj Hashim
Manager ITID Group,AiTI
Email. Norfadlina. hashim@aiti.gov.bn
How RFID has transformed libraries Mr. Richard Koh
Division Manager, Security Systems Division
3M Technologies Singapore
Email.rkoh@mmm.com
2.30-3.05am Concurrent workshop A, B, C
3.30-3.45 pm  Break
Session 4. SEARCH STRATEGIES
3.45-5.00 pm  Information  Search And Discovery Services
Problems and prospects of using foreign and local archive materials in the writing of local history Assoc. Prof  Dr. Hj B.A. Hussainmiya
Faculty of Social Sciences, Universiti Brunei Darussalam
Bachamiya.hussainmiya@ubd.edu.bn
Tracking reference services and processes Ms. Jane Wee
Senior Manager, NL Singapore Content & Services , NLB Singapore
Email. Jane_WEE@nlb.gov.sg
Collaborative Reference Database Ms Yoriko Sato
Director Library Support Division,
Kansai-Kan, National Diet Library Japan
Email: satoyori@ndl.go.jp

Friday 2 December 2011

Session 5. WHAT’S NEXT
8.30 -9.20am   Web based learning communities
NASIS : Its impact on Libraries, Information And Society Aw Hj Zaini Hj Pungut
Special Duties Officer, Ministry of Communications
The challenges and opportunities for academic libraries in Brunei Darussalam in an era of technological advancement Dr Hj Awg Suhaimi Hj Abdul Karim
Chief Librarian, Universiti Brunei Darussalam
Email.suhaimi.karim@ubd.edu.bn
&  Dk Noraini Pg Hj Idris
Asst Library Officer I, Universiti Brunei Darussalam
Email.noraini.idris@ubd.edu.bn
9.20-9.40am  Break
9.40-10.10am   Discussion on the Image Of The New Information Professionals
Mr. Brian Hall, CILIP UK
Mr Ahmad Sukri Kadir, SARBICA
Mr. Nurhazman Abd Aziz, LAS
10.10am Presentation of  concurrent workshop report
11.30am Resolutions
12.00pm Closing Ceremony
12.30pm Lunch  & Friday Prayers
2.30-4.00pm Cultural visit to Kg Ayer Cultural & Tourism Gallery & UBD Library
7.00pm Silver Jubilee Gala Nite

3 Dec 2011  Post Conference Workshop

9.00-1030am Harnessing new technologies to rebranding my professionalism in the library and information industry
Faciltator: Mr. Nurhazman Abd Aziz, LAS